russian english spanish choose your langauge


PDGE and opposition parties sign electoral convention


That was the reason for the presence of the leaders of political parties from the democratic opposition on 30th October, at the People's Palace in Malabo.

Jerónimo Osa Osa Ecoro, PDGE General Secretary, read the convention in the presence of the Deputy General Secretary, Jesusa Obono Engono Nchama, and various advisers to the Head of State's Office.

The political agreement is signed by the leaders of the Popular Union (UP); the Liberal Democratic Convention (CLD); the Democratic and Popular Social Convergence (CSDP);the Progressive Democratic Alliance (ADP); the Social Democratic Union (UDS); the Social Democratic Party (PSD); the the Social Democratic Convention Party (PCSD); Popular Action (AP); the National Democratic Union (UDENA); the Socialist Party (PS), and the Liberal Party (PL). In total fourteen political groupings are taking part in this coalition, including the National Congress (CN), the National Democratic Party (PND) and the National Democratic Union (UND).

The agreement will have a duration of five years, until the next set of legislative and municipal elections. The leader General Secretary of the Socialist Party of Equatorial Guinea, Tomás Mecheba Fernández Galilea, delivered to the PDGE Founder the document bearing the signatures of the fourteen leaders.

H. E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, in his reflections, pointed out that the appearance of a coalition is nothing new in the political field, and the decision of the parties to form a coalition with the PDGE has been taken in the interests of the people of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea.

The need to continue working together in order to overcome obstacles and thus continue with the task of national development was one of the other aspects covered in the reflections of the leader of the nation.

The document which was the subject of the meeting contains various pages covering aspects and intentions of the parties to join against the coalition Together We can, formed by Convergence for Social Democracy and the Centre Right Union, together with Equatorial Guinea Citizens for Innovation.

On the photo: A toast to the agreement of the pact

Full list»