russian english spanish choose your langauge

Impressions

You can meet the whole world in Equatorial Guinea! Anna Motairek, doctor, Russia

My husband, Dr. Malik and I first came to Equatorial Guinea to work by contract 8 years ago. We never thought about immigrating then. We just planned to treat local people for a couple of years and then return home. After all of us fell ill with malaria I wanted to leave even earlier. Malik suffered especially hard: he had fever every two weeks. After that, however, he had developed such a strong immunity that a single paracetamol tablet taken at first symptoms cured him immediately. We just learnt the nature of the disease: malaria demands respect. You cant be too careless, and you cant be too serious about it either.

To cut a long story short, we stayed and never regretted. The first thing that surprised me a lot and what I was very happy about was our international company. It seemed to me that the whole world gathered here. Our best friends were from Korea, Algeria, France and the USA. All together we went on hiking, spent our leisure time, made parties. Our children grew side by side with their foreign friends. Equatorial Guinea gave us a unique opportunity to interact with the whole world without leaving a single country.

We started working by contract. But as we are doctors I am a pediatrician and my husband is gynecologist our colleagues sent their children and wives to us to be treated. This is how It occurred to us, why not found a private clinic. At the time, the Healthcare Minister was Hustino Obama, who helped us to bring our plan to life. We consider him a godfather of Selena. First this was a small private practice. Then as we build up some fortune we started a great construction. Now we have a bigger establishment already.

Although, the clinic is not luxurious, it is very cozy and you feel here at home. 80% of our patients are permanent and they respect us very much. We can feel it. I know these people need me. Every day opening the clinic I see patients waiting for me. Everyone on the island knows Dr. Malik. Rumors are best aids here. Finance, by the way, is also important. I used to work as a pediatrician at a municipal clinic in Russia and earned just small money. Here we are better-off, even though it often happens so that my husband does not take money for the visit. We try to work for the benefit of these people. For example I am very much for breast feeding. But there is a big trouble with it here. The standards of living in the country have recently gone up. But the local people are still unable to tell bad from good. They drink soda and feed their babies with tinned baby food believing that what they buy for money is by all means better. In past times, only maybe one woman of a hundred did not breastfeed. Now it has changed to the contrary. It is worth noting also that they do not like to say their age. A few years ago as the passports were changed in the country the age was written according to what people said. Even men lied about their age.

In fact, the locals were a pleasant surprise to me they are hospitable and benevolent, educated and informed. They know more about health issues than any other nation in the Western Africa. They surf for the issue on the Internet before they visit a doctor. Well, maybe this is because the locals do not trust doctors much, especially if a doctor is white. That is why it is especially pleasant to realize that we are trusted. Of course there are some who are fussy and cannot decide between traditional medicine and sorcery, the so-called kurandria. I cant say that the latter is nonsense. Of course, there is something in sorcery too, but this is a sealed secret. Some patients do not admit they let blood even under the penalty of death. But this is their space, which we are not going to enter without a knock.


Full list

russian english spanish choose your langauge

Впечатления

«В Экваториальной Гвинее встречается весь мир!» Анна Мотайрек, врач, Россия

8 лет назад мы с мужем, доктором Маликом, впервые приехали в Экваториальную Гвинею работать по контракту. Об эмиграции речи не шло, мы собирались поврачевать тут пару лет и вернуться обратно. Но после того, как все переболели малярией я хотела уехать отсюда даже раньше. Особенно тяжело было Малику – его лихорадило каждые две недели. Потом, правда, у него выработался такой иммунитет, что сейчас при первых симптомах он выпивает таблетку парацетамола, и все как рукой снимает. Мы просто поняли характер болезни – ее нужно уважать. Не относиться к ней слишком серьезно, или, наоборот, халатно.

В общем, мы остались и не пожалели. Первое, что меня удивило и очень порадовало – это интернационал, который здесь присутствовал. Мне казалось будто здесь собрался весь мир. Наши лучшие друзья были из Кореи, Алжира, Франции, США. Мы вместе ходили в походы, отдыхали, устраивали вечеринки. Наши дети росли вместе с иностранными. Экваториальная Гвинея подарила нам удивительную возможность общаться со всем миром в пределах одной страны.

Первое время мы работали на контрактной основе, но поскольку у нас с мужем есть специальности – я педиатр, он – гинеколог, коллеги начали водить к нам детей и жен. Так родилась идея создания собственной клиники. Тогда министром здравоохранения был Хустино Обама, он и помог нам реализовать затею. Мы считаем его крестным отцом «Селены». Сначала это была маленькая консультация, а позже, когда мы материально окрепли, затеяли большую стройку и теперь имеем уже учреждение побольше.

У нас тут совсем не элитно, зато душевно и все свои. 80% пациентов ходят к нам давно и очень нас уважают – это чувствуется. Я знаю, что нужна этим людям – каждый день, открывая клинику, я вижу дожидающихся меня больных. Доктора Малика знает весь остров, сарафанное радио здесь работает на «ура». Но кроме этого важна еще и материальная сторона. Я работала в России участковым педиатром и получала копейки. Здесь мы все-таки имеем намного больше возможностей. И это при том, что случаются ситуации, когда муж даже не берет денег за консультацию. Мы стараемся работать на благо этого народа. Я вот, например, ярый борец за грудное вскармливание. Здесь с этим беда. Уровень жизни в стране повысился, появились блага цивилизации. Но гвинейцы еще не успели научиться отличать хорошее от плохого. Они пьют газировку и кормят детей из баночек, считая, что купленное за деньги однозначно лучше. В былые времена не кормила, может, одна женщина из ста. А теперь прямо напасть какая-то. Зато вот скрывать свой возраст – это они горазд! Несколько лет назад гвинейцам меняли паспорта и вносили данные о рождении со слов. Так врали о возрасте даже мужчины.

Но вообще-то гвинейцы меня приятно удивляют: они открыты и доброжелательны, грамотны и информированы. Они гораздо лучше других жителей Западной Африки разбираются в вопросах здоровья. Прежде чем прийти к врачу, изучат тему в интернете. Возможно, это от того, что местные не очень верят врачам, тем более белым. Именно поэтому нам вдвойне приятно осознавать, что мы это доверие заслужили. Есть конечно особые экземпляры: они суетятся и разрываются между  традиционной медициной и знахарством, так называемой курандерией. Не буду говорить, что это глупости, что-то в этом однозначно есть. Однако, это тайна под семью замками. Некоторые пациенты даже под страхом смерти не признаются, например, в кровопускании. Но это их пространство и мы не будем входить в него без стука.


Полный список новостей»