russian english spanish choose your langauge

Impressions

"The life is good here" Oleg Dobrenko, entrepreneur, Russia

21.06.2013

Why I stayed in Equatorial Guinea, you may ask. I just had no choice. Im 50, 35 of which I served for civil aviation, was at three wars and in Russia I could only expect a pension worth 50 dollars. A man of my age cannot start business from scratch in any of the post-Soviet states. Meanwhile, here I am a respected man, whom banks trust and do not require a detailed business plan and long explanations. Now I cook food to order and build a restaurant and a bakery. My dream is a boutique with 15 kinds of bread. The menu of my restaurant will offer traditional Russian cuisine: vareniki, pelmeni, golubtsi, manti. May be there will also be a billiards hall in the second floor. I am also eager to build a church and have already found sponsors. At least there will be a place for my compatriots to meet on Sundays.

The life is good here. Being familiar with the local top officials I can say that many have a grudge against the President for only one reason: because he reinvests in his country a lot, something that his neighbours do not do. Nigeria, Cameroon and Gabon were the first to join the OPEC. They have been mining oil for already 40 years, longer than Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. But the authorities of these countries do not invest as much as Obiang. That is why so many expats come to Equatorial Guinea to work. By the way Europeans stay here too. A lot of Spaniards have come here of late. Meanwhile, locals are not happy with their arrival. The Guineans remind me the population of the Middle Asia after the collapse of the USSR: they are quick learners too.

Indeed, there is corruption and embezzlement, but the situation has improved over the past 5 to 6 years since the oil money have been redistributed. I saw with my own eyes roads, plumbing, housing, trade centers and bridges being built and street lights installed. Malabo II was constructed from scratch. There is even a new city under construction a new capital of Oyala. The construction of three deep sea ports, four international airports and several water treatment facilities are underway. What state can afford such a large-scale construction? Look, Germans have been building an airport in Berlin, and have not finished it so far.

A home in Buena Esperansa region under a social program costs 10 thousand euro and a 10-year installment is available. Where else in the world can you buy a 3 room home with two bathrooms so cheap. No wonder everybody wishes this president a long term. Europeans accuse him of corruption, but he calmly replies Who is not corrupt? A salary of a skilled professional in Europe is 1 to 2 thousand euro in Europe versus 5 to 6 here plus special benefits. Obiang says that Equatorial Guinea now can invest in Europe but Europe does not want it. The President has recently announced a new plan. Enough roads and bridges, lets build plants! he said. To cut a long story short, he decided to develop industry. I used to tell the Ministry of Agriculture seven years ago that they can gather up to four harvests a year. Why import tomatoes from Cameroon? Only now they got it. I think, one day, they will realize the power of tourism. All walk one way.


Full list

russian english spanish choose your langauge

Впечатления

"Здесь хорошо живется!" Олег Добренко, предприниматель, Россия

21.06.2013

Почему я остался жить в Экваториальной Гвинее? А как иначе? Мне 50 лет, из которых 35 я прослужил в гражданской авиации, прошел три войны, а в Росии мне разве что светит пенсия в 50 долларов. Ни в одной из постсоветских стран человек в моем возрасте не может организовать бизнес с нуля. А здесь я уважаемый человек, в банке мне верят, не требуют расписывать бизнес-планы и долго что-то объяснять. Я легко взял кредит и наладил бизнес. Пока что занимаюсь кулинарией под заказ, но сейчас строю ресторан и пекарню. Бутик с 15 видами хлеба – моя мечта. В ресторане в меню будут вареники, пельмени, голубцы, манты. Может даже бильярдную на втором этаже сделаю. А еще я очень хочу построить церковь. Более того, мне обещают покровительство. А что – по крайней мере, будет куда нашим ходить по воскресеньям.

Здесь хорошо живется. Я вращаюсь в политических верхах и могу сказать, что на президента здесь точат зуб только по одному поводу: он слишком много реинвестирует в страну, чего не делает никто из его соседей. Негерия, Камерун и Габон – это первые члены ОПЕК, которые добывают нефть уже 40 лет, дольше чем Саудовска Аравия и ОАЭ. Но местная власть не вкладывает в свою страну столько, сколько Обианг. Поэтому в Гвинею все едут на работу. Здесь, кстати, и европейцы остаются жить. Вот испанцев в последнее время много появилось. А местные фыркают на них, вот, мол, понаехали. А я наблюдаю за гвинейцами, и они мне напоминают жителей средней Азии после развала СССР: так же быстро подхватывают тенденции и окультуриваются.

Да, здесь есть коррупция и воровство, но за последние 5-6 лет, с тех пор как произошел передел долей от реализации нефти, произошли разительные перемены. Я сам наблюдал как прокладывали дороги, канализацию, устанавливали освещение, строили спальные районы, торговые центры и мосты. С нуля появился Малабо II. Даже город целый строится – новая столица Ояла. В стране одновременно идет строительство трех глубоководных портов, четырех международных аэропортов и нескольких очистных станций. Какое государство себе может позволить такую стройку? Немцы вон уже десять лет в Берлине строят аэропорт, все никак не достроят.

Социальный дом в районе Буэна Эсперанса стоит 10 тыс евро с рассрочкой на 10 лет. В какой стране мира можно купить жилье с 3 спальнями и двумя санузлами за такие деньги? Не удивительно, что все хотят, чтобы этот президент посидел подольше. Европа обвиняет его в коррупции, а он спокойно так ей отвечает: «А где нет коррупции?» Специалист в Европе получает 1-2 тыс евро, а здесь ему платят 5-6 тыс плюс полный соцпакет. Обианг заявляет, что Экваториальная Гвинея сейчас в состоянии инвестировать в Европу, вот только там этого никто не принимает. Недавно президент выдал новый план. Говорит, хватит строить дороги и мосты, давайте строить фабрики. В общем взяли курс на индустриализацию страны. Я еще семь лет назад говорил министру сельского хозяйства, что здесь по четыре урожая можно собирать, а они везут помидоры из Камеруна. И вот только сейчас они к этому пришли. Я думаю, они к туризму когда-нибудь придут. Все идут по одному пути.


Полный список новостей»