russian english spanish choose your langauge

Guinea Equatorial - Education

At different times Equatorial Guinea was under the influence of Portugal, England, Spain and France. Equatorial Guinea is the only state on the African continent with the Spanish as the official language. Spain remained the colonizer for longest, until 1968. Under the dictator Masias, the relations with the kingdom were spoilt. However, after Teodor Obiang came to power, cultural ties with Spain got stronger. Today, the traces of the European culture are found mainly in the Spanish Centers in Malabo and Bata. The atmosphere there is amicable. Teachers, both Spanish and local, teach young Guineans drama, dancing, art and sculpture after school. They often organize festivals, open classes, castings and different exhibitions. For one, an International Hip-Hop, or Short Film Festival allows you not only demonstrate your skills and meet colleagues but also go and win Europe, if you win.

The Guinean Cultural Center in the Independence Avenue in Malabo is always swarming with young people. It is still very expensive to have Internet access at home, but here wifi is free in the hall. No wonder people occupy even the staircase with their laptops. The centers main objective is not only to unlock access to the world news but also to preserve national traditions. That is why it announces weeks of fang, boobi, annobon, bisio and ndove tribes culture with conferences, sculpture and photo exhibitions, national dancing and food competitions. Often, there are also book presentations in the Guinean Cultural Center. Near the main building there is an open air stage. Young people do sports here at day time, and in the evenings chairs are brought for the guests to listen to music and watch dancing performances. Often, the performances are devoted to some holidays and the performers are school children

The number of school children has grown in Equatorial Guinea in the past few years. The whole Malabo goes to school every morning. Illiteracy typical of the Masias rule has long sunk to oblivion. The level of literacy now reaches 95%, which is higher than in Brazil, Malaysia and South Africa. Guineans say even in the countryside you will not find a child older than three hanging around. Everybody study. There are computer classes even at kindergartens. The education is obligatory and cost-free for children from 6 to 14. After finishing high-school many students go to Spain to continue their studies. Many go to the National University of Equatorial Guinea in Malabo, with 7 departments and 1800 students. In Bata, there is a Medical School supported by the government of Cuba, where professors from the Island of Freedom work. The School has students programs with the universities of Spain, France and Cuba.

Students can often be seen not only in the cultural centers, but also in the National Library in Malabo, the atrium of which is decorated by the cubic sculpture of the African Picasso Leonardo Mbomio Nsue. Besides Guinean writers, there are also books on ancient history of the state pre-colonial and colonial times. In the library, you can buy rare books on traditions of fang and boobi tribes.

Guineans inherited passion for football from Spaniards. All little and old play and watch football. When Real plays with Barcelona in Spain, be sure, Guineans are also at the TV screens separated into two camps. Equatorial Guinea hosted the Africa Cup of Nations in 2012 that left the country several first-class stadiums. The male national team has never won so far, while female one is the champion of Africa and one of the most famous female national teams worldwide.

russian english spanish choose your langauge

Экваториальная Гвинея - Образование

История Экваториальной Гвинеи сложилась таким образом, что влияние на ее развитие имели и португальцы, и англичане, и испанцы, и французы. Экваториальная Гвинея – единственное на африканском континенте государство, где официальным языком является испанский. Испания дольше других сохраняла статус колонизатора, уступив лишь в 1968 году. Во время режима диктатора Масиаса отношения с королевством были испорчены. Однако, культурные связи окрепли с приходом к власти Теодоро Обианга, и теперь главным оплотом европейской культуры в стране являются испанские центры: один в Малабо, второй в Бате. Здесь царит дружественная обстановка, преподаватели – как местные, так и испанские – во внешкольное время учат юных гвинейцев драматическому искусству, танцам, живописи и скульптуре. Центры то и дело устраивают фестивали, открытые уроки, кастинги и разные выставки. Так, например, международный фестиваль хип-хопа или короткометражек позволяет гвинейцем не только показать себя и познакомиться с коллегами, но выиграв его, отправится покорять Европу.

В гвинейском культурном центре, расположенном на проспекте Независимости в Малабо, всегда полно молодежи. В стране индивидуальный доступ в интернет пока еще дорогой. А здесь в холле есть бесплатный wifi – не мудрено, что гвинейцы сидят с ноутбуками даже на ступеньках. Но главная задача центра – не только открывать доступ к мировой информации, но и сохранять национальные традиции. Так, здесь поочередно проходят недели культуры фанг, буби, аннобонцев, бисио и ндове. Мероприятия сопровождаются конференциями, выставками скульптур и фотографий, народными танцами и кулинарными конкурсами. Презентации книг тоже часто случаются в стенах гвинейского культурного центра. По соседству с основным зданием находится концертная площадка под открытым небом. Днем молодежь использует ее в качестве спортзала, а вечером сюда сносят стулья, и на сцене появляются исполнители песен и танцев. Чаще всего это школьники, выступающие в честь какого-то праздника.

Школьников в Экваториальной Гвинее за последние годы сильно прибавилось. «Утром все Малабо идет в школу». Невежественная Гвинея, которая существовала при президенте Масиасе давно в прошлом. Уровень грамотности в стране 95%. Это выше, чем в Бразилии, Малайзии и ЮАР.  Гвинейцы говорят, что сейчас даже в деревнях днем с огнем не сыщешь ребенка старше трех лет без дела. Все учатся. Компьютерные классы организовывают даже в детских садиках. С 6 до 14 лет образование обязательное и бесплатное. После старшей школы некоторые уезжают получать дипломы в Испании. Многие поступают в местный Национальный университет Экваториальной Гвинеи в Малабо, на семи факультетах которого учится 1800 студентов. В Бате при поддержке правительства Кубы функционирует медицинский факультет, укомплектованный педагогами из Острова свободы. Учебное заведение ведет обширную политику студенческого обмена с университетами Испании, Франции и Кубы.

Учащихся часто можно встретить не только в культурных центрах, но и в национальной библиотеке в Малабо. Ее атриум украшен кубической скульптурой «африканского Пикассо» Леандро Мбомио Нсуе. Кроме гвинейских писателей, на полках учреждения можно найти книги по древней истории государства – доколониальной и колониальной эпохи, а также купить редкие издания о традициях фанг и буби.

От испанцев гвинейцам передалась страсть к футболу. От мала до велика все играют и болеют. Когда в Испании сходятся «Реал» с «Барселоной», здесь, будьте уверены, все тоже у экранов и так же разделены на два лагеря. В 2012 году Экваториальная Гвинея была хозяйкой футбольного чемпионата Африки, после которого в стране осталось несколько отличных стадионов. Мужская сборная чемпионат пока не выигрывала, зато вот женская команда – действующий чемпион Африки и одна из самых заметных женских сборных мира.